MAP-Works Excellence Awards

The MAP-Works Excellence Awards recognize institutions that exemplify our mission of continuous improvement in student success and retention. The award review committee read through numerous applications and was humbled to see so many meaningful projects taking place on campuses across the country. Our award recipients have proven how the MAP-Works program may ensure students successfully transition to college and maximize their college experience.

2013 MAP-Works Excellence Awards

badge icon image
Kanawha Valley Community and Technical College
badge icon image
University of San Diego
badge icon image
American University
badge icon image
University of Iowa
badge icon image
University of Nevada at Reno
badge icon image
University of Wisconsin at Whitewater
badge icon image
Hiram College
badge icon image
Northern Illinois University

MAP-Works Excellence Award Review Committee

The MAP-Works Excellence Award Review Committee consisted of experts in the higher education community. We thank them for the time and effort they put in to distinguish our award recipients’ commitment to excellence.

  • Dr. Betsy Barefoot, Assistant Vice President & Director of Enrollment Management Purdue University
  • Dr. Brent Drake, Assistant Vice President & Director of Enrollment Management Purdue University
  • Norbert Dunkel, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs University of Florida
  • Dr. Jennifer Hodges, Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Studies University of North Texas
  • Mary Stuart Hunter, Associate Vice President & Executive Director for University 101 Programs National Resource Center for the First Year Experience and Students in Transition – University of South Carolina
  • Marsha Miller, Assistant Director, Resources & Services; Editorial Board National Academic Advising Association
  • Dr. Molly Schaller, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Counselor Education and Human Services University of Dayton
  • Rick Sparks, Assistant Dean and New Student Programs Director; President-Elect, NODA Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Dr, Randy Swing, Executive Director Association for Institutional Research
  • Dr. Tom Grites, Assistant to the Provost Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
  • Dr. Victor M. H. Borden, Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Indiana University

Learn More

Attend a free webinar

It allowed us in one year, to make a 4% jump in first-to-second-year persistence.

Central Michigan University

Jason Bentley, Director of First-Year Experience and Special Projects for Academic Affairs

News & Articles

  • More UI freshmen returning and then graduating on time

    University of Iowa officials say programs to help incoming freshmen settle in to college life and meet new academic challenges are paying off. “When you compare the national average to our institutions, you can see quite a bit of difference,” Gonzalez said. Six-year graduation rates at the ... Read More »

  • MAP-Works results focus on retention rates

    WKU students might have noticed MAP-Works fliers and signs peppering campus, and have probably received more than one email encouraging them to complete the survey. Nearly 25 percent of enrolled WKU students participated in these surveys last semester, the highest percentage ever recorded since ... Read More »

Read more articles »